| #

2015 BC 10K Champions Crowned at Summerfast

Rachel Cliff and Blair Johnston won the 2015 BC 10K Championships this morning, at the VFAC hosted Summerfast 10K.
Cliff successfully retained her crown, winning in 34:49 under sunny skies. Erin Burrett, returning from injury, took second in 35:36. And Lissa Zimmer of the host club was close behind to complete the podium in 35:48. Top master was Melanie Kassel in 40:54.
The men’s race featured a much closer finish as 23 second covered the top 4, including the first master. Blair Johnston triumphed in 31:30. Theo Hunt took the runner-up spot in the race for the third year in a row in 31:37. And Jerry Ziak just outsprinted Jim Finlayson for third in 31:52. Finlayson had the consolation of being top master in 31:53. …more at BC Athletics

| #

Summerfast 2014 Race Report

Weeks of uninterrupted warmth and sunshine came to a screeching halt just in time for the 2014 edition of the Summerfast 10K. This may have come as a disappointment to the organizers, but Vancouverites are accustomed to racing in the rain, and were perhaps grateful for the cooler temperatures as they set off on a loop around the iconic Stanley Park seawall. …more
Also see: Course Record for Cliff highlights Summerfast 10K

| #

Records fall at Summerfast 10K

The record books were completely rewritten at the Summerfast 10K, hosted by the Vancouver Falcons. The final race in the 2013 Timex BC Road Race Series and race #8 in the Lower Mainland Series attracted a competitive field. Warm, calm conditions, and a flat course produced fast times for many. …more